关于我们

我们是谁

什么是民族?

Ethno is JM International’s program for folk, world and traditional music. Founded in 1990, it is aimed at young musicians (up to the age of 30) with a mission to revive and keep alive global cultural heritage.

如今,Ethno 在 40 多个国家/地区开展活动,通过一系列年度国际音乐夏令营以及讲习班、音乐会和巡演,与学校、音乐学院和其他青年团体合作,促进和平、宽容和理解,从而吸引年轻人。

Ethno 的核心是其民主的点对点学习方法,年轻人可以通过这种方法互相教授来自他们国家和文化的音乐。 这是一种在过去 30 年中得到完善的非正式教学法,包含跨文化对话和理解的原则。 Ethno 为来自世界各地的年轻人提供了一个独特的机会,让他们以尊重、慷慨和开放的方式聚集在一起,通过音乐参与其中。

Ethno 的目标是通过这些互动激发音乐家的兴趣,以加深他们的音乐兴趣并建立一个支持他们职业生涯的全球网络。 每个民族营地都结合了研讨会、即兴表演、排练和表演,使参与者能够发展个人和专业技能。 通过 Ethno,音乐家们可以更好地了解彼此的文化。 在 Ethno,音乐是促进包容、理解和接受的强大工具。

我们的价值观

保护/保护文化遗产

在年轻人中保持传统音乐的活力。

拥抱多样性

庆祝独特性并确保我们所做的一切都包含在内。

推动非正规音乐教育

通过点对点和体验式学习。

促进年轻音乐家的流动

创造机会参加世界各地的民族活动

营造民主空间

适用于所有性别、文化、技能和信仰的音乐家。

建立对年轻人的信心

在音乐、专业和个人方面成长。

民族世界团队

苏切特·马尔霍特拉

民族全球协调员

玛蒂娜·格里

民族项目助理

民族
JM国际项目

IMI 是一个全球性的非营利网络,为年轻人和儿童提供通过音乐跨越国界发展的机会。 我们接受所有风格的音乐,为不同类型的年轻音乐家工作,并与他们一起工作。 通过利用音乐的力量弥合社会、地理和文化鸿沟,JMI 计划为跨文化对话和接受创造了一个国际平台。

JMI 于 1945 年由一群富有同情心的音乐家和组织者在比利时布鲁塞尔创立,他们将音乐视为将年轻人聚集在一起以克服两次世界大战造成的鸿沟的一种手段。 今天,JMI 遍布全球 60 多个国家,并继续让年轻人通过音乐跨越国界发展。

www.jmi.net

民族委员会

Ethno 由 Ethno Committee 指导和塑造,Ethno Committee 是 JM International 的一个全球指导小组,致力于确保 Ethno 计划以可持续、积极和民主的方式发展。 每个 Ethno 在 Ethno 委员会中由一名成员代表,该委员会与全球更广泛的 Ethno 组织者网络合作,每年都使 Ethno 变得更好。

我们做什么

民族如何运作?

Ethno 以研讨会为基础,参与者互相教授来自他们文化的音乐。 一起教、学和玩是民族体验的基础。 在民族聚会开始之前,参与者被要求准备一首来自他们家乡文化的歌曲或曲调来教其他参与者——这不是太难但也不是太简单。 工作坊持续约一小时,有经验丰富的民族艺术导师在场,他们会在工作坊之前帮助参与者准备,并在工作坊期间进行教学,但前提是参与者需要帮助。 所有的教学都是靠耳朵完成的,但有时会使用乐谱作为支持或记录所学内容。 一旦教了歌曲和曲调,练习课程就开始了! 艺术导师负责编排歌曲和曲调,在与教师参与者协商后从小组中引入创意。 排练每天都在进行,参加的音乐家练习当天的所有音乐以及以前教授的内容,而艺术导师则致力于制作和磨练民族曲目,直到准备好呈现!

谁可以参加?

如果您是 16 至 30 岁的年轻音乐家,那么 Ethno 适合您!

无论您的音乐水平如何,在 Ethno 重要的是您愿意向来自世界各地的音乐家学习和分享。 在 Ethno 音乐不是由老师教的,而是由您教的! 音乐家带来了他们国家的传统/民歌和音乐,并将它们传授给他人。 同样,您将从参加民族的其他音乐家教授的其他国家学习音乐。 在持续到深夜的即兴演奏中分享和学习更多的曲调、歌曲和乐曲!

民族艺术导师

民族艺术导师是音乐制作过程的管家,他们在需要时协助和支持音乐家,以便他们能够将他们的音乐传授给民族团体。 艺术导师对团队的社会和心理健康负责,就像他们对艺术成果负责一样。 因此,他们受过专门培训并拥有必要的经验来支持参加 Ethno 的年轻音乐家在安全和包容的环境中连接和探索音乐和文化世界。

民族史

Ethno 于 1990 年在瑞典法伦镇开始,旨在将民间音乐的地位与古典音乐和爵士乐并驾齐驱,并为年轻的民间音乐家创造互动、分享知识和开发全新事物的机会和现代的从现有的传统。 Ethno 的点对点学习和教学方法取得了巨大的成功。 音乐家们在音乐和文化分享的基础上结下了持久的友谊,并开始创造项目和表演,推动“世界音乐”的成长和发展。

瑞典模式被爱沙尼亚和比利时成功采用,这三个民族是在第一个十年建立的。 随着消息的传播,接下来的十年里,塞浦路斯、捷克共和国、英国、斯洛文尼亚和欧洲以外的第一个民族——乌干达出现了民族主义。 在其第三个十年(2010-2019 年)中,Ethno 见证了爆炸性增长,另外 XNUMX 个 Ethnos 成立,在各大洲建立了该项目及其价值。 今天大洋洲有民族——新西兰、澳大利亚和所罗门群岛; 亚洲——印度和柬埔寨; 中东——约旦、黎巴嫩和巴勒斯坦;非洲——阿尔及利亚、马拉维、莫桑比克、坦桑尼亚、突尼斯和乌干达; 和南美洲——巴伊亚、巴西和智利,每年都会在全球范围内创建新的。 虽然每个民族都是不同和独特的,但民族精神贯穿始终,音乐和知识本着相互尊重和欣赏的精神公开分享。

为该项目无私奉献的人的杰出贡献包括 Ethno 的创始人 Magnus Bäckström、Gunnar Nolgård、Musik för Ungdom(JM 瑞典)、Ivo 和 Chris Lemahieu,他创立了 Ethno Flanders,Susanne Lind 是 Ethno 的参与者1990 年的第一个 Ethno,现在是杰出的艺术导师和未来奖获得者,Allan Skrobe,一位经验丰富的音乐家和音响工程师,现在指导崭露头角的艺术导师,Fernando 'Nano' Stern,他的祖国智利的著名艺术家 Karin Hjertzell,十五年来掌舵地球上最大的民族——
Ethno Sweden 和 Margit Kuhi,爱沙尼亚完全自给自足的 Ethno 生态系统的创造者,以及无数其他人。

受到运动和音乐家的启发,其他 XNUMX 多个民族正在孵化。 增长地区包括东欧和巴尔干地区、中非和南非、中东和美洲。 Ethno 不仅仅是一个音乐项目,它还是一个归属感的地方,无论音乐水平或成就如何,每个人都被包括在内。 对于音乐家、组织者、工作人员、艺术导师和工作人员来说,民族是家。

“所有的民族都不同,但精神是一样的。”

(Magnus Backstrom,Ethno 的创始人)

民族宇宙

民族的不同元素是什么?

Ethno 最初是瑞典的一个单一的夏季音乐夏令营,但今天已经发展成为一个与 Ethno 相关活动的完整生态系统。 以下是 Ethno 生态系统的概述:

民族音乐营

我们面向年轻音乐家的国际音乐夏令营仍然是民族体验的核心,现在全年在 30 多个国家/地区举办。

路上的民族

Ethno 通过派遣精选的才华横溢的多元化音乐家团体进行巡回演出,从而促进新兴艺术家的发展。
民族营结束了。

艺术导师培训

一系列的培训,使音乐家能够发展他们的技能
艺术导师。

民族组织者培训

物理和数字培训,以支持和维持民族组织者的工作。

民族儿童/家庭

太年轻不能参加常规的民族活动? 我们已为您提供保障! 一些 Ethnos 现在为孩子们提供体验,有时也为他们的父母提供体验!

民族乐团

由来自不同社区的年轻音乐家组成的当地民族乐团。

民族工作坊

为各类青少年和儿童举办的一次性民族工作坊。

民族之友

来自世界各地的民族灵感倡议!

  • 里拉音乐交流中心(保加利亚)
  • Världens 乐队(瑞典,国际)
  • Folkläng(德国)
  • Bahnhof Leisnig(德国)
  • IPA集体(国际)
  • 民间马拉松(多城市,欧洲)
  • 巴尔西卡(法国)
  • Flotsam Sessions(英国)
  • Folktrepo(意大利)

民族培训

艺术导师培训

艺术导师的角色
Ethno 艺术导师的工作是让 Ethno 营地的参与者为即将到来的音乐会、直播和录音做好准备。 为了做到这一点,他们组织并帮助参与者准备他们必须举办的研讨会,以便与整个团队分享他们的音乐。 这可能意味着在即将举行的研讨会之前工作,以支持和协助正在教授他们的曲调/歌曲的参与者。 在工作坊期间,艺术导师会根据需要提供帮助(例如 – 以低音量循环播放节奏、弹奏和弦或编写图表以使歌词和和弦学习更容易)。 在一天的开始和结束时,他们还组织和促进小组排练,其中民族的所有音乐家聚集在一起排练和演奏他们学到的东西。

艺术导师是民族音乐家,他们去过许多营地,并承担了组织和准备音乐作品的责任,并协助民族组织者。 这可能包括在研讨会和营地期间照顾参与者、试音和录音等技术工作,以及主持音乐会。

艺术导师培训旨在帮助潜在的艺术导师获得新技能并提高他们现有的技能,使他们有能力承担艺术导师的角色。 这包括深入的音乐知识,例如 Ethnofonik ALT 涵盖的编曲知识,以及对世界音乐风格、神经多样性、性别多样性、身心健康等各种主题的更深入理解和洞察。

艺术导师是对自己和他们的职业有很高满意度的移情者,因此能够为 Ethno 内的音乐活动提供支持、洞察力和指导,并激励参与者。

民族志

Ethnofonik 是一个为期两周的年度互动培训课程,旨在为有抱负的 Ethno 艺术导师提供艺术指导。 该课程旨在为参与者提供促进音乐和文化交流的工具
不同的观众通过音乐。 遵循 Ethno 教学法,Ethnofonik 使参与者能够成为各种背景下音乐交流项目的有效教练,从国际交流到当地音乐研讨会。 根据 Ethno 艺术导师角色的例子,Ethnofonik 的参与者探索这种独特的点对点方法,同时建立自己的曲目(à la Ethno)以在最后的公开展示中表演。 Ethnofonik 让音乐家接受在职艺术导师培训,让他们有机会练习在当地学校、音乐学院和青年中心学到的知识。

主办方培训
Ethno OAT(组织者年度培训)

民族组织者是负责创建和维持民族阵营结构并使一切成为可能的人——音乐创作、音乐会表演、文化和音乐交流以及点对点学习。 组织者遍布 30 多个国家/地区,因此网络内的交流和经验交流对于保持 Ethno 社区的更新和联系非常重要。

Ethno OAT 由 Jeunesses Musicales International 组织,旨在为 Ethno 组织者提供交流、培训和启发的平台。 与 Ethno 一样,培训是点对点的,不时引入专业意见,为学习和发展提供额外动力。 定期评估有助于组织者了解缺失的需求并指导未来的培训活动。 Ethno OAT 还为组织者提供交流机会、重要的文化见解和关于行为规范差异的学习,帮助他们更好地准备迎接国际参与者
代表着不同的国家和文化。

About

Who we are

WHAT IS ETHNO?

Ethno is JM International’s program for folk, world and traditional music. Founded in 1990, it is aimed at young musicians (ages 16-30) with a mission to revive and keep alive global cultural heritage.

Present today in over 30 countries, Ethno engages young people through a series of annual international music camps as well as workshops, concerts and tours, working together with schools, conservatories and other groups of youth to promote peace, tolerance and understanding.

At the core of Ethno is its democratic, peer to peer learning approach whereby young people teach each other the music from their countries and cultures. It is a non-formal pedagogy that has been refined over the past 30 years, embracing the principles of intercultural dialogue and understanding. Ethno provides a unique opportunity for young people from across the globe to come together and engage through music in a manner that is characterized by respect, generosity and openness.

The goal of Ethno is to inspire musicians through these interactions to deepen their musical interests and to build a global network that supports their careers. Each Ethno camp combines workshops, jam sessions, rehearsals and performances that enable participants to develop both personal and professional skills. Through Ethno, musicians gain a greater understanding of each other’s cultures. At Ethno, music is powerful tool that fosters inclusion, understanding and acceptance.

Our Values

Preserve/Conserve cultural heritage

Keep traditional music alive amongst young people.

Embrace diversity

Celebrate uniqueness & ensure inclusion in all we do.

Promote non-formal music education

Through peer-to-peer and experiential learning.

Facilitate the mobility of young musicians

Create opportunities to attend Ethno activities worldwide

Create a democratic space

For musicians of all genders, cultures, skills and beliefs.

Build confidence in young people

Grow musically, professionally & personally.

Ethno World Team

Suchet Malhotra

Ethno Global Coordinator

Martina Gerli

Ethno Project Assistant

ETHNO
A Program of JM International

IMI is a global network of non-profits that provides opportunities for young people and children to develop through music across all boundaries. Open to all styles of music, we work for, and with, young musicians across genres. By harnessing the power of music to bridge social, geographical and cultural divides, JMI programs create an international platform for intercultural dialogue and acceptance.

JMI was founded in Brussels, Belgium in 1945 by a group of compassionate musicians and organisers who saw music as a means of bringing young people together to overcome the divide created by the two World Wars. Today, JMI is present in over 60 countries across the globe and continues to enable young people to develop through music across all boundaries.

www.jmi.net

The ETHNO Committee

Ethno is guided and shaped by the Ethno Committee, a global steering group within JM International that works to ensure the Ethno program develops in a sustainable, positive and democratic way. Each Ethno is represented within the Ethno Committee by one member, and the committee works with the broader network of Ethno organisers around the globe to make Ethno even better each year.

What we do

How Does Ethno Work?

Ethno is based on workshops where the participants teach each other music from their cultures. To teach, learn and play together is the foundation of the Ethno experience. Before the Ethno gathering starts, participants are asked to prepare a song or tune from their home culture to teach the other participants – something that is not too difficult but not too simple either. Workshops last for about one hour, and there are experienced Ethno artistic mentors at hand who help participants before the workshop to prepare, and during the workshop to teach, but only if participants need a hand. All teaching is done by ear, but sheet music is sometimes used as a support or as a record of what was learnt. Once the songs and tunes are taught, the practice sessions begin! Artistic mentors work on arranging the songs and tunes, bringing in creative ideas from the group in consultation with the teacher-participant. Rehearsals take place every day, and the attending musicians practice all of the day’s music as well as what was taught previously, while the artistic mentors work on crafting and honing the Ethno repertoire until is ready to present!

Who Can Participate?

If you are a young musician between the ages of 16 and 30 then Ethno is for you!

No matter your level of musicianship, what counts at Ethno is that you are open to learn from, and share with, musicians from all over the world. At Ethno music is taught not by teachers, but by you! Musicians bring with them traditional/folk songs and music from their countries and teach them to others. Likewise you will learn music from other countries taught by the other musicians attending the Ethno. Many more tunes, songs and compositions are shared and learnt at jams that go on well into the night!

Ethno Artistic mentors

Ethno artistic mentors are stewards of the music-making process, they assist and support the musicians where needed in order for them to be able to impart their music to the Ethno group. Artistic mentors are responsible for the social and mental wellbeing of the group as much as they are responsible for the artistic outcome. As such, they are specially trained and have the requisite experience to support young musicians attending Ethno to connect and explore a world of music and culture in a safe and inclusive environment.

Ethno History

Ethno started in 1990 in the town of Falun, Sweden, in an effort to bring the status of folk music on par with classical music and jazz, as well as to create opportunities for young folk musicians to interact, share knowledge and develop something entirely new and contemporary from existing traditions. Ethno’s peer-to-peer learning and teaching approach was a runaway success. Musicians formed lasting friendships on the basis of musical and cultural sharing and began to create projects and performances, fuelling the growth and development of “world music”.

The Swedish model was successfully adapted by Estonia and Belgium and these three Ethnos were established in the first decade. As word spread, the next decade saw Ethnos rise in Cyprus, the Czech Republic, England, Slovenia, and the first Ethno outside Europe – Uganda. In its third decade (2010-2019), Ethno witnessed explosive growth and twenty-five other Ethnos were founded, establishing the project and it’s values on every continent. Today there are Ethnos in Oceania – New Zealand, Australia and the Solomon Islands; Asia – India and Cambodia; the Middle-East – Jordan, Lebanon and Palestine,;Africa – Algeria, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Tunisia and Uganda; and South America — Bahia, Brazil and Chile, with new ones being created across the globe every year. While each Ethno is different and unique, the Ethno spirit pervades throughout, and music and knowledge is openly shared in the spirit of mutual respect and appreciation.

Outstanding contributions by people who have selflessly devoted themselves to the project include Magnus Bäckström, the founder of Ethno, Gunnar Nolgård, Head of Musik för Ungdom (JM Sweden), Ivo & Chris Lemahieu, who started Ethno Flanders, Susanne Lind, a participant at the first Ethno in 1990 and now a distinguished artistic mentor and Future Prize winner, Allan Skrobe, a vastly experienced musician and sound engineer who now coaches budding artistic mentors, Fernando ‘Nano’ Stern, a renowned artist in his home country of Chile, Karin Hjertzell, for fifteen years at the helm of the planet’s largest Ethno-
Ethno Sweden, and Margit Kuhi, the creator of an entirely self-sufficient Ethno ecosystem in Estonia, among countless others.

Inspired by the movement and the musicians, over thirty other Ethnos are incubating. Growth areas include East Europe and the Balkans, Central and South Africa, the Middle-East and the Americas. Ethno is not just a music project, it is a place of belonging, where everyone is included irrespective of musical level or accomplishment. To the musicians, organisers, crew members, artistic mentors and staff, Ethno is home.

“All the Ethno’s are different, but the Spirit is the same.”

(Magnus Backstrom, Ethno’s Founder)

The Ethnoverse

What are Different Elements of Ethno?

Ethno started as a single summer music camp in Sweden but today has evolved into an entire ecosystem of Ethno-related activities. Here is an overview of the Ethno ecosystem:

Ethno Music Camps

Our international music camps for young musicians remain at the core the Ethno experience and now take place all year round in over 30 countries.

Ethno on the Road

Ethno promotes emerging artists by sending selected groups of talented & diverse musicians on tour when the
Ethno camp is over.

Artistic Mentor Trainings

A range of trainings that allow musicians to develop their skills as
artistic mentors.

Ethno Organiser Trainings

Physical and digital training to support and sustain the work of Ethno organisers.

Ethno Kids/Family

Too young to attend a regular Ethno? We’ve got you covered! Several Ethnos now offer experiences for kids & sometimes their partents too!

Ethno Ensembles

Local Ethno orchestras made up of young musicians from diverse communities.

Ethno Workshops

One-off Ethno workshops for all kinds of groups of young people and children.

Ethno Friends

Ethno-inspired initiatives from around the world!

  • Rila Music Exchange (Bulgaria)
  • Världens Band (Sweden, International)
  • Folkläng (Germany)
  • Bahnhof Leisnig (Germany)
  • IPA Collective (International)
  • Folk Marathon (Multi-city, Europe)
  • Balsika (France)
  • Flotsam Sessions (UK)
  • Folktrepo (Italy)

Ethno Trainings

Artistic Mentor Trainings

The role of the Artistic Mentor
The work of Ethno artistic mentors is to prepare the participants at the Ethno camp for the upcoming concerts, livestreams and recordings. In order to do this, they structure and help participants prepare the workshops that they must give in order to share their music with the whole group. This could mean working in advance of an upcoming workshop to support and assist the participants who are teaching their tune/song. During the workshops, artistic mentors provide assistance as needed (for example – playing the rhythm at a low volume on loop, playing the chords, or writing charts to make lyric and chord learning easier). At the beginning and end of the day, they also organise and facilitate group rehearsals, wherein all the musicians at the Ethno come together to rehearse and play what they have learnt.

Artistic mentors are Ethno musicians who have been to a number of camps and have taken on themselves the responsibility of organising and preparing the musical outputs, and assisting the Ethno organisers. This can include looking after participants during workshops and at camp, technical work such as soundchecks and recordings, and emceeing the concert(s).

Artistic Mentor Trainings aim to help potential artistic mentors acquire new skills and enhance their already existing ones so they are well-equipped to take on the artistic mentor role. This includes in-depth musical knowledge such as arranging, covered by the Ethnofonik ALT, but also a deeper understanding and insight on a variety of topics such as world music styles, neurodiversity, gender diversity, physical and mental health.

Artistic mentors are empaths with high satisfaction levels vis-a-vis themselves and their careers, and are thus able to provide support, insight and direction to the musical activities within Ethno as well as inspire participants.

Ethnofonik

Ethnofonik is an annual two-week long, interactive training course aimed at providing artistic guidance to aspiring Ethno artistic mentors. The course aims to equip participants with the tools to facilitate the exchange of music and culture to
different audiences through music. Following the Ethno pedagogy, Ethnofonik enables participants to become effective coaches on music exchange projects in various contexts, from international exchanges to local musical workshops. Based on the example of the Artistic Mentor role at Ethno, the particpants at Ethnofonik explore this unique peer-to-peer approach whilst building a repertoire of their own (à la Ethno) to perform at the final public showcase. Ethnofonik engages musicians with on-the-job artistic mentor training, giving them the opportunity to practice what they have learned in local schools, conservatories and youth centres.

Organisers Trainings
Ethno OAT(Organizers Annual Training)

Ethno organizers are the people who take the responsibility of creating and sustaining the structure of the Ethno camp and making everything possible within – the creation of the music, concert performances, cultural and musical exchanges, and peer-to-peer learning. With organizers present in over 30 countries, communication and exchange of experiences within the network is important to keep the Ethno community updated and connected.

The Ethno OAT is organized by Jeunesses Musicales International to be a platform for exchange, training and inspiration for Ethno organizers. Like Ethno, the training is peer-to-peer, with professional inputs brought in from time to time to give an extra impetus to learning and development. Regular evaluations help organizers understand missing needs and steer the training activities of the future. the Ethno OAT also provides organisers with networking opportunities, vital cultural insights and learnings regarding the differences in behavioural norms, helping them better prepare to receive international participants
representing a diverse range of countries and cultures.