À propos

QUI NOUS SOMMES

QU'EST-CE QUE ETHNO?

Ethno is JM International’s program for folk, world and traditional music. Founded in 1990, it is aimed at young musicians (up to the age of 30) with a mission to revive and keep alive global cultural heritage.

Présent aujourd'hui dans plus de 40 pays, Ethno engage les jeunes à travers une série de camps musicaux internationaux annuels ainsi que des ateliers, des concerts et des tournées, en collaboration avec des écoles, des conservatoires et d'autres groupes de jeunes pour promouvoir la paix, la tolérance et la compréhension.

Au cœur d'Ethno se trouve son approche démocratique d'apprentissage entre pairs dans laquelle les jeunes s'enseignent mutuellement la musique de leur pays et de leur culture. Il s'agit d'une pédagogie non formelle qui a été affinée au cours des 30 dernières années, embrassant les principes du dialogue et de la compréhension interculturels. Ethno offre une opportunité unique aux jeunes du monde entier de se réunir et de s'engager à travers la musique d'une manière caractérisée par le respect, la générosité et l'ouverture.

L'objectif d'Ethno est d'inspirer les musiciens à travers ces interactions pour approfondir leurs intérêts musicaux et créer un réseau mondial qui soutient leur carrière. Chaque camp Ethno combine des ateliers, des jam sessions, des répétitions et des performances qui permettent aux participants de développer leurs compétences personnelles et professionnelles. Grâce à Ethno, les musiciens acquièrent une meilleure compréhension des cultures de chacun. Chez Ethno, la musique est un outil puissant qui favorise l'inclusion, la compréhension et l'acceptation.

Nos Valeurs

Préserver/Conserver le patrimoine culturel

Maintenir la musique traditionnelle vivante parmi les jeunes.

Embrasser la diversité

Célébrez l'unicité et assurez l'inclusion dans tout ce que nous faisons.

Promouvoir l'éducation musicale non formelle

Grâce à l'apprentissage entre pairs et par l'expérience.

Faciliter la mobilité des jeunes musiciens

Créez des opportunités pour assister à des activités ethno dans le monde entier

Créer un espace démocratique

Pour les musiciens de tous genres, cultures, compétences et croyances.

Donner confiance aux jeunes

Grandir musicalement, professionnellement et personnellement.

Equipe Ethno-monde

Suchet Malhotra

Coordinateur Ethno Global

Martina Gerli

Assistante de projet ethno

ETHNO
Un programme de JM International

IMI est un réseau mondial d'organisations à but non lucratif qui offre aux jeunes et aux enfants des opportunités de se développer à travers la musique à travers toutes les frontières. Ouvert à tous les styles de musique, nous travaillons pour et avec de jeunes musiciens de tous genres. En exploitant le pouvoir de la musique pour combler les fossés sociaux, géographiques et culturels, les programmes JMI créent une plate-forme internationale pour le dialogue interculturel et l'acceptation.

JMI a été fondée à Bruxelles, en Belgique, en 1945 par un groupe de musiciens et d'organisateurs compatissants qui considéraient la musique comme un moyen de rassembler les jeunes pour surmonter le fossé créé par les deux guerres mondiales. Aujourd'hui, JMI est présent dans plus de 60 pays à travers le monde et continue de permettre aux jeunes de se développer à travers la musique à travers toutes les frontières.

www.jmi.net

Le comité ETHNO

Ethno est guidé et façonné par le Comité Ethno, un groupe de pilotage mondial au sein de JM International qui veille à ce que le programme Ethno se développe de manière durable, positive et démocratique. Chaque Ethno est représenté au sein du Comité Ethno par un membre, et le comité travaille avec le réseau plus large d'organisateurs Ethno à travers le monde pour rendre Ethno encore meilleur chaque année.

Nos actions

Comment fonctionne l'ethno ?

Ethno est basé sur des ateliers où les participants s'enseignent mutuellement la musique de leurs cultures. Enseigner, apprendre et jouer ensemble est le fondement de l'expérience Ethno. Avant le début du rassemblement ethno, les participants sont invités à préparer une chanson ou un air de leur culture d'origine pour enseigner aux autres participants - quelque chose qui n'est pas trop difficile mais pas trop simple non plus. Les ateliers durent environ une heure, et il y a des mentors artistiques Ethno expérimentés à portée de main qui aident les participants avant l'atelier à se préparer, et pendant l'atelier à enseigner, mais seulement si les participants ont besoin d'un coup de main. Tout l'enseignement se fait à l'oreille, mais la partition musicale est parfois utilisée comme support ou comme mémoire de ce qui a été appris. Une fois les chansons et les airs enseignés, les séances d'entraînement commencent ! Les mentors artistiques travaillent sur l'arrangement des chansons et des airs, apportant des idées créatives du groupe en consultation avec l'enseignant-participant. Les répétitions ont lieu tous les jours et les musiciens présents pratiquent toute la musique de la journée ainsi que ce qui a été enseigné auparavant, tandis que les mentors artistiques travaillent à l'élaboration et à l'affinage du répertoire ethno jusqu'à ce qu'il soit prêt à le présenter !

Qui peut participer?

Si vous êtes un jeune musicien entre 16 et 30 ans, Ethno est fait pour vous !

Quel que soit votre niveau de musicalité, ce qui compte chez Ethno, c'est que vous soyez ouvert à apprendre et à partager avec des musiciens du monde entier. Chez Ethno, la musique n'est pas enseignée par des professeurs, mais par vous ! Les musiciens apportent avec eux des chansons et de la musique traditionnelles/folkloriques de leur pays et les enseignent aux autres. De même, vous apprendrez la musique d'autres pays enseignée par les autres musiciens participant à l'Ethno. De nombreux autres morceaux, chansons et compositions sont partagés et appris lors de jams qui se prolongent tard dans la nuit !

Mentors ethno-artistiques

Les mentors artistiques ethno sont les intendants du processus de création musicale, ils assistent et soutiennent les musiciens en cas de besoin afin qu'ils puissent transmettre leur musique au groupe Ethno. Les mentors artistiques sont responsables du bien-être social et mental du groupe autant qu'ils sont responsables du résultat artistique. En tant que tels, ils sont spécialement formés et possèdent l'expérience requise pour aider les jeunes musiciens d'Ethno à se connecter et à explorer un monde de musique et de culture dans un environnement sûr et inclusif.

Histoire ethnologique

Ethno a commencé en 1990 dans la ville de Falun, en Suède, dans le but d'amener le statut de la musique folk au même niveau que celui de la musique classique et du jazz, ainsi que pour créer des opportunités pour les jeunes musiciens folkloriques d'interagir, de partager des connaissances et de développer quelque chose d'entièrement nouveau. et contemporain des traditions existantes. L'approche d'apprentissage et d'enseignement entre pairs d'Ethno a été un succès retentissant. Les musiciens ont noué des amitiés durables sur la base du partage musical et culturel et ont commencé à créer des projets et des performances, alimentant la croissance et le développement des « musiques du monde ».

Le modèle suédois a été adapté avec succès par l'Estonie et la Belgique et ces trois Ethnos ont été établis au cours de la première décennie. Au fur et à mesure que la nouvelle s'est répandue, la décennie suivante a vu l'essor des Ethnos à Chypre, en République tchèque, en Angleterre, en Slovénie et le premier Ethno en dehors de l'Europe - l'Ouganda. Au cours de sa troisième décennie (2010-2019), Ethno a connu une croissance explosive et vingt-cinq autres Ethnos ont été fondés, établissant le projet et ses valeurs sur tous les continents. Aujourd'hui, il y a des Ethnos en Océanie – Nouvelle-Zélande, Australie et Îles Salomon ; Asie – Inde et Cambodge ; le Moyen-Orient – ​​Jordanie, Liban et Palestine, ; Afrique – Algérie, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzanie, Tunisie et Ouganda ; et l'Amérique du Sud — Bahia, le Brésil et le Chili, avec de nouvelles créations à travers le monde chaque année. Bien que chaque Ethno soit différent et unique, l'esprit Ethno imprègne tout, et la musique et les connaissances sont ouvertement partagées dans un esprit de respect et d'appréciation mutuels.

Les contributions exceptionnelles de personnes qui se sont dévouées de manière désintéressée au projet incluent Magnus Bäckström, le fondateur d'Ethno, Gunnar Nolgård, responsable de Musik för Ungdom (JM Suède), Ivo & Chris Lemahieu, qui ont lancé Ethno Flanders, Susanne Lind, une participante à le premier Ethno en 1990 et maintenant un mentor artistique distingué et lauréat du Future Prize, Allan Skrobe, un musicien et ingénieur du son très expérimenté qui entraîne maintenant des mentors artistiques en herbe, Fernando 'Nano' Stern, un artiste renommé dans son pays d'origine, le Chili, Karin Hjertzell, pendant quinze ans à la tête du plus grand Ethno-
Ethno Sweden et Margit Kuhi, la créatrice d'un écosystème Ethno entièrement autosuffisant en Estonie, parmi d'innombrables autres.

Inspirés par le mouvement et les musiciens, plus d'une trentaine d'autres Ethnos sont en incubation. Les zones de croissance comprennent l'Europe de l'Est et les Balkans, l'Afrique centrale et du Sud, le Moyen-Orient et les Amériques. Ethno n'est pas seulement un projet musical, c'est un lieu d'appartenance, où chacun est inclus quel que soit son niveau musical ou son accomplissement. Pour les musiciens, les organisateurs, les membres de l'équipe, les mentors artistiques et le personnel, Ethno est la maison.

"Tous les Ethno sont différents, mais l'Esprit est le même."

(Magnus Backstrom, fondateur d'Ethno)

L'ethnoverse

Quels sont les différents éléments de l'ethno ?

Ethno a commencé comme un seul camp musical d'été en Suède, mais s'est aujourd'hui transformé en un écosystème complet d'activités liées à Ethno. Voici un aperçu de l'écosystème Ethno :

Camps de musique ethno

Nos camps musicaux internationaux pour jeunes musiciens restent au cœur de l'expérience Ethno et se déroulent désormais toute l'année dans plus de 30 pays.

Ethno sur la route

Ethno promeut les artistes émergents en envoyant des groupes sélectionnés de musiciens talentueux et divers en tournée lorsque le
Le camp ethno est terminé.

Formations de mentors artistiques

Une gamme de formations qui permettent aux musiciens de développer leurs compétences en tant que
mentors artistiques.

Formations d'organisateur ethno

Entraînement physique et numérique pour soutenir et pérenniser le travail des organisateurs Ethno.

Ethno Enfants/Famille

Trop jeune pour assister à un Ethno régulier ? Nous avons ce qu'il vous faut! Plusieurs Ethnos proposent désormais des expériences pour les enfants et parfois leurs parents aussi !

Ensembles ethno

Orchestres ethno locaux composés de jeunes musiciens de diverses communautés.

Ateliers ethno

Ateliers Ethno ponctuels pour tous types de groupes de jeunes et d'enfants.

Amis ethniques

Des initiatives d'inspiration ethno du monde entier !

  • Échange de musique de Rila (Bulgarie)
  • Världens Band (Suède, International)
  • Folkläng (Allemagne)
  • Bahnhof Leisnig (Allemagne)
  • Collectif IPA (International)
  • Marathon Folk (Multi-villes, Europe)
  • Balsika (France)
  • Sessions Flotsam (Royaume-Uni)
  • Folktrepo (Italie)

Formations ethno

Formations de mentors artistiques

Le rôle du mentor artistique
Le travail des mentors artistiques Ethno est de préparer les participants au camp Ethno pour les prochains concerts, livestreams et enregistrements. Pour ce faire, ils structurent et aident les participants à préparer les ateliers qu'ils doivent animer afin de partager leur musique avec l'ensemble du groupe. Cela pourrait signifier travailler en amont d'un atelier à venir pour soutenir et aider les participants qui enseignent leur air/chanson. Au cours des ateliers, des mentors artistiques apportent une aide au besoin (par exemple – jouer le rythme à faible volume en boucle, jouer les accords ou rédiger des grilles pour faciliter l'apprentissage des paroles et des accords). En début et en fin de journée, ils organisent et animent également des répétitions de groupe, où tous les musiciens de l'Ethno se réunissent pour répéter et jouer ce qu'ils ont appris.

Les mentors artistiques sont des musiciens ethno qui ont participé à un certain nombre de camps et se sont chargés d'organiser et de préparer les sorties musicales, et d'assister les organisateurs d'Ethno. Cela peut inclure la prise en charge des participants pendant les ateliers et au camp, le travail technique tel que les balances et les enregistrements, et l'animation du ou des concerts.

Les formations de mentors artistiques visent à aider les mentors artistiques potentiels à acquérir de nouvelles compétences et à améliorer celles déjà existantes afin qu'ils soient bien équipés pour assumer le rôle de mentor artistique. Cela comprend des connaissances musicales approfondies telles que l'arrangement, couvertes par l'Ethnofonik ALT, mais aussi une compréhension et une compréhension plus approfondies de divers sujets tels que les styles de musique du monde, la neurodiversité, la diversité des genres, la santé physique et mentale.

Les mentors artistiques sont des empathes avec des niveaux de satisfaction élevés vis-à-vis d'eux-mêmes et de leur carrière, et sont donc capables de fournir un soutien, un aperçu et une direction aux activités musicales au sein d'Ethno ainsi qu'inspirer les participants.

Ethnofonik

Ethnofonik est un cours de formation interactif annuel de deux semaines visant à fournir des conseils artistiques aux aspirants mentors artistiques ethno. Le cours vise à doter les participants des outils nécessaires pour faciliter l'échange de musique et de culture afin de
différents publics à travers la musique. Suivant la pédagogie Ethno, Ethnofonik permet aux participants de devenir des coachs efficaces sur des projets d'échanges musicaux dans divers contextes, des échanges internationaux aux ateliers musicaux locaux. Sur la base de l'exemple du rôle de mentor artistique à Ethno, les participants à Ethnofonik explorent cette approche unique de pair à pair tout en construisant leur propre répertoire (à la Ethno) pour se produire lors de la dernière vitrine publique. Ethnofonik engage des musiciens avec une formation de mentor artistique en cours d'emploi, leur donnant l'opportunité de mettre en pratique ce qu'ils ont appris dans les écoles locales, les conservatoires et les centres de jeunesse.

Organisateurs Formations
Ethno OAT (Formation Annuelle des Organisateurs)

Les organisateurs Ethno sont les personnes qui prennent la responsabilité de créer et de maintenir la structure du camp Ethno et de rendre tout possible à l'intérieur - la création de la musique, les concerts, les échanges culturels et musicaux et l'apprentissage entre pairs. Avec des organisateurs présents dans plus de 30 pays, la communication et l'échange d'expériences au sein du réseau sont importants pour maintenir la communauté Ethno à jour et connectée.

L'Ethno OAT est organisée par les Jeunesses Musicales International pour être une plateforme d'échange, de formation et d'inspiration pour les organisateurs Ethno. Comme Ethno, la formation est entre pairs, avec des apports professionnels apportés de temps en temps pour donner une impulsion supplémentaire à l'apprentissage et au développement. Des évaluations régulières aident les organisateurs à comprendre les besoins manquants et à orienter les activités de formation de l'avenir. l'Ethno OAT offre également aux organisateurs des opportunités de réseautage, des informations culturelles vitales et des apprentissages concernant les différences dans les normes de comportement, les aidant à mieux se préparer à recevoir des participants internationaux
représentant un large éventail de pays et de cultures.

About

Who we are

WHAT IS ETHNO?

Ethno is JM International’s program for folk, world and traditional music. Founded in 1990, it is aimed at young musicians (ages 16-30) with a mission to revive and keep alive global cultural heritage.

Present today in over 30 countries, Ethno engages young people through a series of annual international music camps as well as workshops, concerts and tours, working together with schools, conservatories and other groups of youth to promote peace, tolerance and understanding.

At the core of Ethno is its democratic, peer to peer learning approach whereby young people teach each other the music from their countries and cultures. It is a non-formal pedagogy that has been refined over the past 30 years, embracing the principles of intercultural dialogue and understanding. Ethno provides a unique opportunity for young people from across the globe to come together and engage through music in a manner that is characterized by respect, generosity and openness.

The goal of Ethno is to inspire musicians through these interactions to deepen their musical interests and to build a global network that supports their careers. Each Ethno camp combines workshops, jam sessions, rehearsals and performances that enable participants to develop both personal and professional skills. Through Ethno, musicians gain a greater understanding of each other’s cultures. At Ethno, music is powerful tool that fosters inclusion, understanding and acceptance.

Our Values

Preserve/Conserve cultural heritage

Keep traditional music alive amongst young people.

Embrace diversity

Celebrate uniqueness & ensure inclusion in all we do.

Promote non-formal music education

Through peer-to-peer and experiential learning.

Facilitate the mobility of young musicians

Create opportunities to attend Ethno activities worldwide

Create a democratic space

For musicians of all genders, cultures, skills and beliefs.

Build confidence in young people

Grow musically, professionally & personally.

Ethno World Team

Suchet Malhotra

Ethno Global Coordinator

Martina Gerli

Ethno Project Assistant

ETHNO
A Program of JM International

IMI is a global network of non-profits that provides opportunities for young people and children to develop through music across all boundaries. Open to all styles of music, we work for, and with, young musicians across genres. By harnessing the power of music to bridge social, geographical and cultural divides, JMI programs create an international platform for intercultural dialogue and acceptance.

JMI was founded in Brussels, Belgium in 1945 by a group of compassionate musicians and organisers who saw music as a means of bringing young people together to overcome the divide created by the two World Wars. Today, JMI is present in over 60 countries across the globe and continues to enable young people to develop through music across all boundaries.

www.jmi.net

The ETHNO Committee

Ethno is guided and shaped by the Ethno Committee, a global steering group within JM International that works to ensure the Ethno program develops in a sustainable, positive and democratic way. Each Ethno is represented within the Ethno Committee by one member, and the committee works with the broader network of Ethno organisers around the globe to make Ethno even better each year.

What we do

How Does Ethno Work?

Ethno is based on workshops where the participants teach each other music from their cultures. To teach, learn and play together is the foundation of the Ethno experience. Before the Ethno gathering starts, participants are asked to prepare a song or tune from their home culture to teach the other participants – something that is not too difficult but not too simple either. Workshops last for about one hour, and there are experienced Ethno artistic mentors at hand who help participants before the workshop to prepare, and during the workshop to teach, but only if participants need a hand. All teaching is done by ear, but sheet music is sometimes used as a support or as a record of what was learnt. Once the songs and tunes are taught, the practice sessions begin! Artistic mentors work on arranging the songs and tunes, bringing in creative ideas from the group in consultation with the teacher-participant. Rehearsals take place every day, and the attending musicians practice all of the day’s music as well as what was taught previously, while the artistic mentors work on crafting and honing the Ethno repertoire until is ready to present!

Who Can Participate?

If you are a young musician between the ages of 16 and 30 then Ethno is for you!

No matter your level of musicianship, what counts at Ethno is that you are open to learn from, and share with, musicians from all over the world. At Ethno music is taught not by teachers, but by you! Musicians bring with them traditional/folk songs and music from their countries and teach them to others. Likewise you will learn music from other countries taught by the other musicians attending the Ethno. Many more tunes, songs and compositions are shared and learnt at jams that go on well into the night!

Ethno Artistic mentors

Ethno artistic mentors are stewards of the music-making process, they assist and support the musicians where needed in order for them to be able to impart their music to the Ethno group. Artistic mentors are responsible for the social and mental wellbeing of the group as much as they are responsible for the artistic outcome. As such, they are specially trained and have the requisite experience to support young musicians attending Ethno to connect and explore a world of music and culture in a safe and inclusive environment.

Ethno History

Ethno started in 1990 in the town of Falun, Sweden, in an effort to bring the status of folk music on par with classical music and jazz, as well as to create opportunities for young folk musicians to interact, share knowledge and develop something entirely new and contemporary from existing traditions. Ethno’s peer-to-peer learning and teaching approach was a runaway success. Musicians formed lasting friendships on the basis of musical and cultural sharing and began to create projects and performances, fuelling the growth and development of “world music”.

The Swedish model was successfully adapted by Estonia and Belgium and these three Ethnos were established in the first decade. As word spread, the next decade saw Ethnos rise in Cyprus, the Czech Republic, England, Slovenia, and the first Ethno outside Europe – Uganda. In its third decade (2010-2019), Ethno witnessed explosive growth and twenty-five other Ethnos were founded, establishing the project and it’s values on every continent. Today there are Ethnos in Oceania – New Zealand, Australia and the Solomon Islands; Asia – India and Cambodia; the Middle-East – Jordan, Lebanon and Palestine,;Africa – Algeria, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Tunisia and Uganda; and South America — Bahia, Brazil and Chile, with new ones being created across the globe every year. While each Ethno is different and unique, the Ethno spirit pervades throughout, and music and knowledge is openly shared in the spirit of mutual respect and appreciation.

Outstanding contributions by people who have selflessly devoted themselves to the project include Magnus Bäckström, the founder of Ethno, Gunnar Nolgård, Head of Musik för Ungdom (JM Sweden), Ivo & Chris Lemahieu, who started Ethno Flanders, Susanne Lind, a participant at the first Ethno in 1990 and now a distinguished artistic mentor and Future Prize winner, Allan Skrobe, a vastly experienced musician and sound engineer who now coaches budding artistic mentors, Fernando ‘Nano’ Stern, a renowned artist in his home country of Chile, Karin Hjertzell, for fifteen years at the helm of the planet’s largest Ethno-
Ethno Sweden, and Margit Kuhi, the creator of an entirely self-sufficient Ethno ecosystem in Estonia, among countless others.

Inspired by the movement and the musicians, over thirty other Ethnos are incubating. Growth areas include East Europe and the Balkans, Central and South Africa, the Middle-East and the Americas. Ethno is not just a music project, it is a place of belonging, where everyone is included irrespective of musical level or accomplishment. To the musicians, organisers, crew members, artistic mentors and staff, Ethno is home.

“All the Ethno’s are different, but the Spirit is the same.”

(Magnus Backstrom, Ethno’s Founder)

The Ethnoverse

What are Different Elements of Ethno?

Ethno started as a single summer music camp in Sweden but today has evolved into an entire ecosystem of Ethno-related activities. Here is an overview of the Ethno ecosystem:

Ethno Music Camps

Our international music camps for young musicians remain at the core the Ethno experience and now take place all year round in over 30 countries.

Ethno on the Road

Ethno promotes emerging artists by sending selected groups of talented & diverse musicians on tour when the
Ethno camp is over.

Artistic Mentor Trainings

A range of trainings that allow musicians to develop their skills as
artistic mentors.

Ethno Organiser Trainings

Physical and digital training to support and sustain the work of Ethno organisers.

Ethno Kids/Family

Too young to attend a regular Ethno? We’ve got you covered! Several Ethnos now offer experiences for kids & sometimes their partents too!

Ethno Ensembles

Local Ethno orchestras made up of young musicians from diverse communities.

Ethno Workshops

One-off Ethno workshops for all kinds of groups of young people and children.

Ethno Friends

Ethno-inspired initiatives from around the world!

  • Rila Music Exchange (Bulgaria)
  • Världens Band (Sweden, International)
  • Folkläng (Germany)
  • Bahnhof Leisnig (Germany)
  • IPA Collective (International)
  • Folk Marathon (Multi-city, Europe)
  • Balsika (France)
  • Flotsam Sessions (UK)
  • Folktrepo (Italy)

Ethno Trainings

Artistic Mentor Trainings

The role of the Artistic Mentor
The work of Ethno artistic mentors is to prepare the participants at the Ethno camp for the upcoming concerts, livestreams and recordings. In order to do this, they structure and help participants prepare the workshops that they must give in order to share their music with the whole group. This could mean working in advance of an upcoming workshop to support and assist the participants who are teaching their tune/song. During the workshops, artistic mentors provide assistance as needed (for example – playing the rhythm at a low volume on loop, playing the chords, or writing charts to make lyric and chord learning easier). At the beginning and end of the day, they also organise and facilitate group rehearsals, wherein all the musicians at the Ethno come together to rehearse and play what they have learnt.

Artistic mentors are Ethno musicians who have been to a number of camps and have taken on themselves the responsibility of organising and preparing the musical outputs, and assisting the Ethno organisers. This can include looking after participants during workshops and at camp, technical work such as soundchecks and recordings, and emceeing the concert(s).

Artistic Mentor Trainings aim to help potential artistic mentors acquire new skills and enhance their already existing ones so they are well-equipped to take on the artistic mentor role. This includes in-depth musical knowledge such as arranging, covered by the Ethnofonik ALT, but also a deeper understanding and insight on a variety of topics such as world music styles, neurodiversity, gender diversity, physical and mental health.

Artistic mentors are empaths with high satisfaction levels vis-a-vis themselves and their careers, and are thus able to provide support, insight and direction to the musical activities within Ethno as well as inspire participants.

Ethnofonik

Ethnofonik is an annual two-week long, interactive training course aimed at providing artistic guidance to aspiring Ethno artistic mentors. The course aims to equip participants with the tools to facilitate the exchange of music and culture to
different audiences through music. Following the Ethno pedagogy, Ethnofonik enables participants to become effective coaches on music exchange projects in various contexts, from international exchanges to local musical workshops. Based on the example of the Artistic Mentor role at Ethno, the particpants at Ethnofonik explore this unique peer-to-peer approach whilst building a repertoire of their own (à la Ethno) to perform at the final public showcase. Ethnofonik engages musicians with on-the-job artistic mentor training, giving them the opportunity to practice what they have learned in local schools, conservatories and youth centres.

Organisers Trainings
Ethno OAT(Organizers Annual Training)

Ethno organizers are the people who take the responsibility of creating and sustaining the structure of the Ethno camp and making everything possible within – the creation of the music, concert performances, cultural and musical exchanges, and peer-to-peer learning. With organizers present in over 30 countries, communication and exchange of experiences within the network is important to keep the Ethno community updated and connected.

The Ethno OAT is organized by Jeunesses Musicales International to be a platform for exchange, training and inspiration for Ethno organizers. Like Ethno, the training is peer-to-peer, with professional inputs brought in from time to time to give an extra impetus to learning and development. Regular evaluations help organizers understand missing needs and steer the training activities of the future. the Ethno OAT also provides organisers with networking opportunities, vital cultural insights and learnings regarding the differences in behavioural norms, helping them better prepare to receive international participants
representing a diverse range of countries and cultures.